Committee Against Sexual Harassment (CASH)

Kalyani Mahavidyalaya is committed to providing a place of work and study, free from sexual harassment, intimidation or exploitation. It is expected that all students, members of the faculty and officials will treat one another and visitors to college with respect. All members of the college, including those who are present for short term positions, are subject to this policy.

  • Smt Srabani Ghosh, Chairperson
  • Dr. Mausumi Datta Biswas, Convener
  • Dr. Joydev Saha, Associate Professor, Department of Commerce.
  • Mr. Indrajit Bandyopadhyay, Department of English, Member, Governing Body
  • Dr. Dolon Das, Assist. Professor, Department of Physiology.
  • Dr. Partha Sarathi Dhar, External Member
  • Guria Acharjee(Student of 3rd year)
  • Objectives of the CASH :
  1. To prevent sexual harassment against women by promoting gender amity among students and employees.
  2. To make recommendations to the chairperson for changes or elaboration in the rules, and to lay down procedures for the prohibition and prosecution of acts of discrimination and sexual harassment against women by the students and the employees.
  3. To monitor and supervise the ICC in dealing with cases of sexual harassment against women, in a time-bound manner.
  4. To recommend to the chairperson the appropriate punitive action to be taken against the guilty party.
  • Procedure for submitting complains and rules of conducting enquiry:

The Sexual Harassment at workplace (PREVENTION, PROHIBITION And REDRESSAL) Act and Rules, 2013 have been notified by the ministry of WCD . The legislation has in force from December, 9th 2013 [Ministry of WOMEN AND CHILD Development Notification New Delhi THE 9TH December, 2013].

Along with this Act the college committee seeks to adhere to the spirit of Vishakha guideline preceding this legislation in order to address the issue of The Sexual Harassment at workplace for ensuring gender equality.

The Internal College Committee should look into the complaints of Sexual Harassment in the establishment and also generate awareness about the issue.

The Act has outlined the Constitution of the committees. The process to be followed for making a complaint and conducting inquiry into the complaint in a time bound manner.

  • What constitutes Sexual Harassment?

Sexual harassment as defined in the Sexual harassment of women at workplace (prevention, prohibition and redressal) Act, 2013 includes any one or more of the following ‘Unwelcome’ acts or behaviour : (i) physical contact and advances; (ii) a demand or request for sexual favours; (iii) making sexually coloured remarks; (iv) showing pornography; or (v) any other unwelcome physical, verbal or non-verbal conduct of sexual nature. This would also include online harassment via internet, sms and social network sites. Further, the following may also amount to sexual harassment: (i) implied or explicit promise of preferential treatment; (ii) implied or explicit threat of detrimental treatment; (iii) implied or explicit threat about present or future employment status; (iv) interference with work or creating an intimidating or offensive or hostile work environment; or (v) humiliating treatment likely to affect health or safety.

  • The Process for Complain and Enquiry

Step I:  An aggrieved woman should give a written complaint either in person or through post or email. It should be submitted to the ‘Prevention of Sexual Harassment and Atrocities against Women Committee’ within 3 months of the date of the incident. The time limit may be extended for a further period of 3 months if, on account of certain circumstances, the woman was prevented from filing the complaint. If the aggrieved woman is unable to make a complaint, her legal heirs may do so.

Step II:  On receipt of the complaint, the ICC will proceed to make an inquiry in accordance with the service rules or in their absence, in accordance with rules under the Act. The inquiry will be completed within 75 days. And the inquiry report will be submitted within 10 days from the date of completion of the inquiry.

Step III:  The ICC will submit a report to the CASH.  If the CASH is satisfied with the enquiry it shall recommend the college authority to take action for sexual harassment as misconduct in accordance with the provisions of the applicable service rules or where no service rules exist, in accordance with rules framed under the Act. Otherwise the CASH shall recommend for a further enquiry expressing the points of dissatisfaction and demand report accordingly within 15 days of the rejection of the first report submitted by the ICC.

Step IV: The final report of the enquiry with recommended measures should be submitted to the college authority by the CASH. The copies of the report and recommendations shall be received by the complaint and accused/respondent. The college management will act on the recommendations of CASH within 60 days of the submission of the inquiry report and recommendations unless any appeal against the report is submitted within that time by either Party.

Step V: Appeal against the decision of the CASH is allowed within 90 days of receipt of the copy of the enquiry report and recommendations


  • The CASH and the ICC shall strictly abide by the guidelines provided in the Handbook On Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act, 2013 (November, 2015) in all activities.
  • The CASH shall prepare an annual Status Report with details on the number of cases filed and their disposal and submit the same to the concerned authority.


The CASH decided that the Internal Complaints Committee (ICC), 2017-18, will be composed of following members:

  1. Sudeshna Paul, Asst. Professor in Sociology (Convener)
  2. Kaushik Mukherjee, Asst. Professor in Micro Biology
  3. Pijush Poddar, Asst. Professor in Bengali
  4. Sangamitra Adhya, Asst. Professor in Geography
  5. Bubly Sarkar, Asst. Professor in Education
  6. Bhaswati Saha, Asst. Professor in Sociology
  7. Sandhya Halder, NTS
  8. Mita Ghosh (Pal), NTS
  9. Guria Acharjee(Student of 3rd year)
  10. Sreetama Chakrabarti, MBBS, DGO, MD (Community Medicine)